22,679 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5091]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(painting of 2 people walking to the right, a jogger and two other people on the right beside the building, one more building on the left, and more)"
Date: unknown
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5099]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(photo of a three-story house with a large roman-style columns at the porch, a two-story add-on, lawn, and more. Backside: "Ai Beta Phi house")"
Date: January 28, 1963
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5083]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(aerial photo of many buildings of the same colorand style, sidewalks and road, many people walking around, a town in the background, and more. Front handwriting: "OU 1965" amd "Actual size campus")"
Date: unknown
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5077]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(photo of a three-story house with a connected two-story add-on, either another connection or other house, lawn, and more. Backside: Alpha Shi Sorority)"
Date: January 28, 1963
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5082]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(photo of a large multi-story building on the right, possible connected building on the left rear, looks like a rock-bed garden-type, on the building side is "Forum," and more)"
Date: June 21, 1965
Creator: Argo, Jim
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5088]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(photo of a four-story building with a large walk-up entrance, people walking around, bicycles at a aprking spot, buildings in the background, and more. Backside: "O. U. Engineering Center Class Changing")"
Date: May 21, 1965
Creator: Traverse, Austin
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5081]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(photo of two main window doors entrance with two persons blacked-out, building through the door and wall windows, and more)"
Date: June 21, 1965
Creator: Argo, Jim
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5101]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(campus map with numbers at buildings both blacked-in and not, a legend for both styles, other legends for more on buildings, roads, and more)"
Date: unknown
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5076]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(photo at the front of a multi-story medieval style building, a woman walking the sidewalk with bicycles behind her, and more. Backside: Bizzell Memorial Library)"
Date: May 21, 1965
Creator: Traverse, Austin
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5087]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "State contractors this week began sharp figuring as bids were asked on $2,500,000 of construction at the University of Oklahoma. Bids are to be opened November 12 for four women's dormitories shown in the top drawing and the one-story dining hall. The project is slated for completion in time for the spring semester in 1949."
Date: 1947
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5094]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Dr. Edwin DeBarr at 89 is active and alert mentally. He reads foreign languages everyday - 15to 20 pages - and keeps up with contemporary events through the newspapers and magazines. The old rock building in the lower righthand corner of this montage is the old Atkins building, on the second floor of which the first classes of the University of Oklahoma were held in 1892. From this small beginning has grown, in Dr. DeBarr's active lifetime, the great, educational plant that exists at Norman today. the library, the field-house, the stadium and other campus structures rise in the background."
Date: 1948
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5086]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "(backside typing: "This is the house that Jack built -- the main room of the Sooner equipment storage area supervised by Jack Baer.")"
Date: October 25, 1960
Creator: Cobb, Dick
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5095]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "More than 600,000 volumes and 2,400 readers can be accommodated in the University of Oklahoma's new $2,700,000 library addition which went into service last April. Four stories-tall, the structure incorporates radical new air conditioning that enables the students to smoke while studying, modernistic furniture and for the first time at OU, an "open-stick" pick-and-choose system."
Date: June 26, 1959
Creator: Lucas, Jim
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5084]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Data from this experimental equipment at the University of Oklahoma process control laboratory is fed by S.M. Mofeeze, and electric engineer from Iran, foreground, and Bob Sims, a Colorado Sprimgs chemical engineer, to a computo, which can be seen on the next page."
Date: September 26, 1963
Creator: Albright, Bob
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5089]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Here is an artist's drawing of the new Hillel foundation building planned at the University of Oklahoma. State B'nai B'rith leaders March 27 will kick off a drive for $150,000 to build a new Hillel center at the University of Oklahoma. The structure, to replace the present Hillel building at the university, will serve as a religious, si=ocial and cultural center for over 300 Jewish students attending the university. It will house a chapel, an auditorium, a library and other facilities. Rabbi Arthur J. Lelyveld, national director of the B'nai B'rith Hillel foundations, will come to Oklahoma this month to assist in the drive. He will speak at Muskogee March 27, at Tulsa the following day, and will come here for a banquet March 29 at Emanuel synagogue. Dr. George L. Cross, university president, also will be a guest speaker. Rabbi Lelyveld, New York City, is former head of Temple Israel in Omaha, Neb. He became national head of the Hillel movement in 1948. Julius Livingston, Tulsa, is state drive chairman. Harry L. Chupack, 820 NW 46, is campaign director. Co-chairman of the Oklahoma City drive are Rabbi Joseph Levenson and Rabbi Israel Chodos. Oklahoma City members will attempt to raise $57,000 of the vuilding total Tentative plans call for breaking ground May 21."
Date: 1950
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5100]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Groundbreaking will be in mid-August for the new one-story B'nai B'rith Hillel foundation near OU campus, Norman. More than 600 Jewish families throughout Oklahoma have contributed to the building fund campaign. When 300 Jewish students return to the University of Oklahoma campus in Norman this autumn, they will find work under way on the new $125,000 B'nai B'rith Hillel foundation. (drawing of the new to-be building)"
Date: 1951
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5092]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Above is the proposed $2 million William Bennett Bizzell Memorial Library center which is part of the plan presented in the first formal statement by the University of Oklahoma Foundation this week. Copies of the statement are to be mailed soon to alumni and other friends of the university. (frontside top: "William Bennett Bizzell Memorial Library")"
Date: 1945
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5085]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "A linotype gets attention of foreign students and observers at opening of the new journalism school and Oklahoma Daily shop at the University of Oklahoma Saturday at Norman. The visitors are Ryo Kanazawa, Japan; Jhong Lee, Korea, president of the OU international club; Itoh Yoshinobu, Japan; Euitak Lee, Korea and John Lok, Free China."
Date: October 25, 1958
Creator: Gumm, John
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.5098]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Sea of caps and gowns formed an impressive sight at Owen Stadium in Norma Sunday highlighting the collegiate finale for the University of Oklahoma's 1968 graduating class. Commencement exercises honoring 2,479 graduates also marked a farewell for Dr. George L. Cross, who is retiring this month after 25 years as OU president. List of graduates on Page 14."
Date: June 2, 1968
Creator: Taylor, Robert
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society
Back to Top of Screen