33 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Photograph 2012.201.B0260.0608]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Cast of concrete marker on which bronze plaque is attached is checked by Charles Keller, 1515 Oxford Way, plant manager for Thomas Concrete Pipe Co."
Date: March 4, 1960
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0260.0609]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "In an isolated area of southeastern Jefferson County, this simple marker of the Oklahoma Historical Society denotes vicinity of vanished San Bernardo Indian Village."
Date: October 30, 1959
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0260.0606]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "This cast metal sign - the 142nd road side marker put up by the Oklahoma Historical Society and Highway commission - points out to motorists on s. H. 40 where the state's big land run began on a line that passes through north outskirts of Stillwater."
Date: April 10, 1960
Creator: Fisher, Dawes
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0260.0604]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Oklahoma Times newspaper. Caption: "HISTORICAL MARKER designating the site of the old Cordell academy is admired by Owen F. Renegar, left, chairman of the marker committee of the Cordell Academy Alumni association, and Joseph J. Aberson, Cordell mayor."
Date: 1957
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B1172.0686]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Following the trail of the historic highway through neighborhoods that hardly remember Route 66 are new city street signs."
Date: February 6, 1993
Creator: Argo, Jim
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B1172.0687]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "With the opening of ever more modern superhighways, fewer travelers are getting their "kicks on Route 66." But there's no one left to remember the original "California Road" which led 49ers in search of California gold westward through the prairies of northwest Oklahoma. This marker is located along SH 34 north of Leedey."
Date: July 17, 1981
Creator: Argo, Jim
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0262.0420]

Description: Photograph used for a newspaper owned by the Oklahoma Publishing Company. Caption: "A historical marker is about all that is left as a reminder the area was the site of Oklahoma's southernmost fighting in the war between the states."
Date: unknown
Creator: Southard, Jack
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0262.0422]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Descendants of the crusty old fighting Kiowa chief - Satank - and historically - interested visitors were there to unveil and dedicate a historical granite marker erected by the Fort Sill Museum last winter."
Date: June 7, 1963
Creator: Granger, Frank
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0262.0434]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Historic marker at the Evangelical United Brethren Church of Stillwater (formerly the Congregational Church) commemorates the birthplace of Oklahoma State University, site of the first class held 73 years ago Monday."
Date: 1964
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0262.0425]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "HISTORICAL MARKER on the east bank of the Verdigris River near Okay was placed near where the Verdigris intersected with the Arkansas and Grand Rivers."
Date: 1962
Creator: Granger, Frank
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0262.0431]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Oklahoma Times newspaper. Caption: "ONE OF OKLAHOMA'S tourist attractions, Fort Gibson Stockade, has been designated a Registered national Historic Landmark by the U. S. Department of Interior."
Date: 1963
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0262.0432]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "HISTORIC THREE FORKS marker, near the Verdigris River Bridge at Okay (formerly Three Forks) in Wagoner County, will be moved to make way for the Arkansas River navigation project's Lock and Dam No. 17, which is a few miles upstream form Okay."
Date: February 7, 1969
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society