4,226 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[Photograph 2012.201.B0375.0033]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Oklahoma Times newspaper. Caption: "Rev. William R. Long minister of Duncan's First Presbyterian Church, is one of 22 Presbyterian US (Southern) ministers chosen to lead a three-week teaching-preaching mission in Brazil May 12-29."
Date: May 10, 1969
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.OVZ001.4319]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Daily Oklahoman newspaper. Caption: "Hall Duncan displays and African grade school primer he wrote, illustrated and had published. Oklahoma City's "international tramp" has come to stay. Four 23 years he was jogged through schools in China, England, Ireland, South Africa and Oklahoma. He left to broaden his skills as an artist; he returned a teacher with an international stature in education. Hall Duncan has come home before. The first time it… more
Date: September 9, 1967
Creator: Derby, Paul
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

[Photograph 2012.201.B0349.0126]

Description: Photograph used for a story in the Oklahoma Times newspaper. Caption: "At present Duncan's old city lake is far below a comfortable level, as shown by the water line on the intake tower above."
Date: December 9, 1948
Creator: Pyer, Ronald
Partner: Oklahoma Historical Society

Duncan history

Description: by Edgar G. Dyer, as published in the Duncan Banner, June 1967. Mr. Dyer mentions William Duncan and his sons Jim and Red Bill, teachers Maye Witt and her father, other Duncan family members, railroad coming to town, the 98th Meridian and saloons on the east side of the line Charlie Trice the U. S. Marshal and people: Colberts, Fowlers, Peales, Will Breedlove, Frank Fuqua, Mr. Acres, Clude Coleman, Dr. Conger, J. J. Hardin and Ben Ridge.
Date: unknown
Creator: Dyer, Edgar G.
Partner: Ardmore Public Library

Duncan Has Four Early-Day Fires by Carl Albright

Description: History of events during fires in the town of Duncan. Dates listed as Feb. 27, July 11 and Sept. 27 of 1901, and another one after these three, no date. Also mentioned are: Ed Dewey Harness Shop, O. K. Wagon Yard, James E. Elliott-postmaster, Bill Brewer Tin Shop, opening day for registration for Indian land at Fort Sill on July 10, 1901.
Date: unknown
Creator: Albright, Carl
Partner: Ardmore Public Library
Back to Top of Screen