History

Edited by Frank H. Greer, president and manager of the Farmer Publishing Company, the newspaper was "Devoted to Agriculture, Horticulture, and Livestock" and had an annual subscription rate of fifty cents in 1904. That same year the Farmer averaged 16 to 24, 4-column pages measuring 11 inches by 15 inches in size. The Farmer featured columns entitled "General Agriculture," "The Dairy," "Farmer's Forum," "Books and Magazines, and "Department of the Household, and included "A Page for Children."

Distributed Wednesdays, the Farmer claimed a circulation of 23,000 in 1905, 40,007 in 1906, and 40,763 in 1907. In September 1910 the newspaper became a bi-weekly publication delivered on the first and fifteenth of each month. In spring 1912, Greer sold the Farmer to Kansas publisher, Arthur Capper. With Maurice L. Crowther as general manager, Capper's first issue of the_ Farmer_ circulated April 1, 1912 (Vol. XXI, No. 25). E. V. Hartman was editor on June 1, 1913, but he was replaced by John W. Wilkerson when Capper relocated the newspaper from Guthrie to Oklahoma City on July 1, 1913.



At a Glance



Explore Holdings

Start browsing through the holdings of this collection in one of the following ways: