History

Founded in 1899 in Luther, Oklahoma County, the Register was published and edited by G. W. Baer. The Register was a weekly coming out on Fridays at $1.00 per year for the 4 pages.

At the beginning, the paper measured 15 by 22 inches but changed over time to 13 by 20 inches featuring eight pages. It continued until 1907 when circulation was 500, but the editors and publishers were now the Mitchell Brothers and the size increased to 8 pages. The paper was Republican in politics.

In November of 1906 the Mitchell Brothers sold the paper to J. W. Sarjent, and his son, E. Sarjent, became the editor.



At a Glance



Explore Holdings

Start browsing through the holdings of this collection in one of the following ways: