Kiowa and Swanson County Democrat


Charles M. Wilson and Morris A. Crooks established the Kiowa County Democrat in 1905. The paper contained eight pages, measuring 13 by 20 inches and costing $1.00 per year. Crooks left the paper in 1905, and a year later S. K. Wilson joined Wilson as editor.

In 1906 subscriptions rose to 500, and the newspaper was issued every Thursday. In 1910 the name was changed to Swanson County Democrat for the period of time that Snyder was located in the new Swanson County, which the governor created from parts of Kiowa and Comanche counties on August 23, 1910. On August 9, 1911, the state supreme court dissolved Swanson County, and the newspaper title reverted to Kiowa County Democrat, which is still in publication.

At a Glance

Cite This Collection

Here is our suggested citation. Consult an appropriate style guide for conformance to specific guidelines.

Kiowa and Swanson County Democrat in The Gateway to Oklahoma History. Oklahoma Historical Society. accessed May 21, 2024.

Explore Holdings

Start browsing through the holdings of this collection in one of the following ways:

Back to Top of Screen