Explore by Collections
The Hobart Daily Democrat was owned and published by N. B. Crumpacker beginning in 1906. It started on October 8, 1906 and was published daily, with the exception of Sundays. It was preceded by The Hobart Daily News-Republican [LCCN sn96093219]. Hobart Weekly Chief was published from 1902 until 1909 in Hobart, Kiowa County, Oklahoma. Its banner claimed it was the official paper of Kiowa county, as well as the official paper of the city of Hobart, Oklahoma.
The Hobart Republican was published from 1901-1902. It began on August 6, 1901. Its geographic coverage included Hobart, Kiowa County, Oklahoma. It was published on a weekly basis by Edmund W. Kimber. Preceding titles include Kiowa County Herald [LCCN sn 35966048 ] and the Mt. View Republican [LCCN sn 35966499] and succeeding titles include The Hobart News Republican [LCCN sn 35966109].
Hooker Advance began February 19, 1904. It was a predominately Republican newspaper, edited and published by Jesse S. Moffitt. It was a four page paper, measuring 17 by 24 inches that utilized patent sheets. J. Henry Shields served as editor when Moffitt was absent. The building and press for the _Hooker Advance were both destroyed by a fire in June of 1908 that destroyed over half of the business district of the town of Hooker.